Spinatomy

Wish upon a Dandelyne and Win!

Posted on: September 21, 2012

I have something pretty exciting to share with you today.  Recently on instagram, I stumbled across the lovely Sonia, creator of Dandelyne. I fell in love with her 100% cute work.  We chatted a bit, liked each other’s work and have very quickly become insta-buddies.

Sonia - Dandelyne

The next logical step was of course for me to toss her some questions and feature her gorgoeus work here.  But that’s not the best bit – the best bit is a giveaway!  Sonia has very kindly offered to giveaway one of her lovely items to one of my readers.  How awesome is she?  Yes – pretty awesome!

But first, my sticky beaking into the world of Dandelyne.

What’s the story of dandelyne?

Dandelyne blossomed as a result of an embroidered/appliquéd family portrait that I designed, and made, in July 2011. My husband and I wanted something a little different from your large, family photographic portrait. So I thought … I should stitch us up (so to speak). I was so pleased with the result that I wanted to sew more. I began sewing and playing with embroidery again. I felt 100% alive and it was from this point that the dandelyne parachutes began to float …

Customised Family Portrait

Customised Family Portrait by Dandelyne

Your mini-hoops are almost as cute as your embroidery – who’s brainwave was that? They look amazing!

Yes yes yes … hands up it was me and thank you ^_^!

I will take credit for the actual brainwave but, I must hand the credit over to my delicious husband for the laser cutting. The production line of sanding, drilling and construction is a team effort between my husband and I. It is most definitely a labour of love.

Sonia at work on her mini embroidery hoops

Sonia at work on her mini embroidery hoops

Have you always been a crafty type? What was your first crafty creation?

Yes! Every since I can remember I have always made things. I remember mum heading off to work in the school holidays and leaving me with her sewing machine. Oh the joy! I would make clothes for my cabbage patch doll Fiona Crystal (I still remember her name – wow!). I would inspect my own clothes to see how they were constructed and then make mini patterns. I think my first crafty creations were Christmas presents for my family. I made white and orange polka dot ties for the boys and fabric covered photo frames for the girls. Very special indeed!    

Bunting Embroidery Hoop Necklace by Dandelyne

What do you make for you and your family? or do you get stuck just making dandelyne goodies (not that there’s anything wrong with that, but sometimes I know I forget about me & mine)

I like to think of myself as a bit of a crafty minx (wink) so I am continually making things for our home. Most recently I have made painted sticks to decorate the brick walls, curtains for the cubby, cushion covers, crochet blankets, aprons, bunting. You name it I’ll make it and if I don’t know how to do it, I’ll investigate how to. As a young girl I often dreamed of working on Play School and making all the props for the show. I thought that would be a dream job and I still do :-D!

Sonia in her Dandelyne Studio

Sonia in her Dandelyne Studio – I have studio envy!

Are your stitched folk based on real life people?

Each of my little people are based upon qualities I admire in family and friends, elements of life that I love and things that have been said by my boys. It is so much fun giving each of them personalities. As I sew it feels like I watch them come to life. Here are a couple for you to enjoy:

Billy is the sweet blond cutie with plaits. She is a jill of all trades. She has a black belt in karate. Her love for cake mixture exceeds eating the cooked option and she absolutely loves reciting quotes from Dr Suess books. One of her favourites, “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

Billy Mini embroidery Hoop Necklace by Dandelyne

Finn is the little spunk with white rimmed glasses. She absolutely loves to read stories by Enid Blyton. She also loves to paint and eat … wait for it … melted marshmallows in a biscuit sandwich. Have you tried this? Delicious and then some!

Finn Mini Embroidery Hoop Necklace by Dandelyne

Finally Fletcher …. cute little Fletch wants to be a Monster Truck Driver. His favourite colour is gold and he believes .. NO HE KNOWS … his crown has special powers. 

Fletcher – Mini Embroidery Hoop necklace

What are your plans for the future of dandelyne? New ideas?

It is still such early days for dandelyne so I am extremely excited about the tangents that are possible. My head spins when I think about all the things I want to do and where I could end up. I honestly want to stitch up a storm. I am working on a new idea right now … are you ready … mini embroidery hoop rings – cuuuuuuuuuuuuute! I am super excited about these so stay tuned for these cuties … and so much more! XO (Put me down for one of them Son!)

Here comes the sun Mini Embroidery Hoop Brooch by Dadnelyne

Where can we find you? 

At the moment I sell my products via my Etsy store and by word of mouth. Instagram has also been a great source of exposure and sales. My website is coming VERY SOON. I hope to be in MANY brick and mortar stores by the end of the year too. I have so many dreams for dandelyne so I want to be everywhere I can possibly be. I can also be found on Facebook.

Thanks so much Son for letting us into your bright and cheery world.

Now on to the giveaway!

Sonia has very kindly offered up your choice of her simply superb mini embroidery hoop hot air balloon necklaces.

Win one of these – the choice is yours, thanks to Dandelyne!

To win, there are no hoops to jump through (hehe). Simply leave a comment here and the winner will be chosen using random.org.  I like to think of it as blowing on a dandelion flower – who knows which one will be the one? Oh and its open to anyone in Australia, the world and the universe.  How cool is that?

Make your comment by 6pm Thursday 27th September Australian Standard Eastern Time.  The winner will be contacted that night and announced here next Friday.  Good luck!

34 Responses to "Wish upon a Dandelyne and Win!"

I am overwhelmed by cute atm! These are absolutely gorgeous little pieces!

I won’t blow a lot of hot air! I just want to say, delightful & original work and like you Shelley, I love Sonia’s studio as well. Thanks for sharing:)

love her stuff! sooo cute!! thanks for the chance to win!

ambjer (at) gmail (dot) com

Oooh yes, I love Sonia’s cute creations. And also suffering from studio envy, LOL.

This is the first time I have seen your page and I am enthralled you are so very talented. I love to do cross Stitch but if I am doing something a bit smaller have problems finding smaller hoops. I will be looking you up on Etsy to see what you have to offer there once again Thank You

I just recently discovered Sonia through Instagram and am totally smitten with her work! Just gorgeous!

Love dandylyne’s necklaces! One day I will buy one!!!!

I’m loopy for these adorable pendants!

Love me some dandelyne! Sonia made me a beautiful custom pet portrait of my two kitties. It’s the cutest thing ever!!!

How cute are these… Absolutely love them!!

How fab is that studio. I love her work and looove her on ig!!!

simply stunning work dandelyne!! xx

I didn’t know you had a beautiful blog as well as your gorgeous shop and IG stream!
These are gorgeous bits too….thanks for the opportunity to win.

your style is so charming. thank you both for sharing your creative & beautiful work!

Oh how cute are they?? Love them. Lease enter me. X

wonderful interview & gorgeous embroidery – love the bunting necklace 🙂

I am loving Sonia’s IG feed (and yours too) Her little embroidered peeps are sooooo cute.

I’m so excited about this! I discovered Sonia’s work via your Instagram feed, Shelley, and I love it as much as yours. A pair of clever clogs, you are! Thanks for sharing this insight into the creative process.

I love the whimsy of Sonia’s pieces! So joyful, creative and fun!!

I love her! Her work is just gorgeous. And she is incredibly sweet!

These are so cute! What an awesome idea! 🙂

Sonia has some beautiful work! I like the ones she is stitching today.

Ain’t her stuff great!

They are gorgeous, how talented you are!

Love the family portrait. What a great idea

She’s absolutely the most cheerfully creative one in the world!
Love her starting idea about sewing a family photo 🙂 and love her adorable works!!!!

Sigh… this is sooo cute. I adore the mini embroidery hoop pendants
xx

Such a fabulous interview!
I also love Sonia’s work, I’m seriously considering having a family portrait made for Mr as a gift 🙂

Very nice, I’m so inspired! Want that studio..! 😜
Kamilla, north Norway.

Yay! I LOVE her stuff!

I just discovered this through instagram, i love her artwork 🙂 also the little characters and their discriptions are so adorable

Entries have now closed. The winner has been drawn and will be announced tomorrow 🙂 Thanks so much to all of you for taking the time to have a peek. Thanks to Miss Dandelyne too for generously offering up the prize 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

