Spinatomy

Wow, wow and WOW!

Posted on: September 14, 2012

Have I told you before of my love for instagram? Yes, yes I have.  Well this week, instagram introduced me to a wonderful embroidery artist from Japan.

The artist is Yumiko Higuchi. Now all of the information  I have found has been in Japanese, so I am relying on goggle translate, which is a bit hit and miss.  This is taken from the artist’s about page :

About the work

of embroidery design, the work is done by hand all the way up to finish the process.
I’m with the aim without being bound to the traditional method of representation of embroidery, please make the work seem yumiko higuchi.
It’s something nostalgic, landscape painting that would burn the eyes, longing. Have been put to such work is the artist’s personal feelings.

My translation of the translation is that all the work is by hand, using traditional methods.  Please link back to the artist, or you will hurt his/her feelings very badly!  So please, if you are planning on pinning anything to pinterest, please click the pics and pin from the artist’s websites, not here.

So on to the amazing. Remember this is all hand stitched – every bit.

Dragon Fruit by Yumiko Higuchi

Wine label by Yumiko Higuchi

Playing cards by Yumiko Higuchi

William Morris Bird Embroidery by Yumiko Higuchi

Botanical Garden Purses by Yumiko Higuchi

Sigh!  The skills are incredible, are they not?

I thoroughly recommend have a browse through Yumiko’s blogwebsite including shop and Yumiko’s pinterest and of course search the user name “yumikohuguchi” on instagram.

Anyone thinking of buying me a present would do well to note the purses – if only they weren’t all sold out  😦

3 Responses to "Wow, wow and WOW!"

That is amazingly intricate and beautiful. If you need help with the translation, my soon to be daughter in law is Japanese. I’m sure she would be happy to help:) I know those auto translates are pretty crazy!

Yes opusanglicanum – it is!

Crazy is right Jane! I might just have to call on your offered services one day, because I would love to buy something one day but its a bit daunting when its in another language. 🙂 Amazingly beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Round 10 whole row

Round 10

blues

More Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

