Spinatomy

Crochet as art

Posted on: September 7, 2012

Hello my friends.

In my travels around the internet, I sometimes find something that takes whatever I am looking at to a new level.  You will be aware of my fascination this year with crochet.  Well, when I found these things, I felt so many things – awe mainly, but also wonder, delight and a huge appreciation for the work and artistic process that has gone into these wonders.

The first wonder of the art crochet world is Emily Barletta.  Emily is now creating wonderful images via stitching onto paper that I recommend you look at also, but I wanted to show you he crocheted creations here today. Emily also has a blog where she shares her art, both in progress and complete as well as other artist’s work she loves.

I just love the creature-like aspects of this.  Is it a malicious or benign being?

Untitled (green) by Emily Barletta

I love the  places this piece takes my imagination

Flesh Spot by Emily Barletta

 

I have also just found the work of Helle Jorgensen.  Helle crochets the most wonderful things using a variety of materials – from plastic bags to hemp cord.  She has a great tutorial on how to make your own plastic bag yarn too.

This one is made from plastic bags – love the title

The retail reef

The Retail Reef by Helle Jorgensen

Now I am sure many of you will have seen the amazing work of Toshiko Horiuchi MacAdam.  I have been amazed by images of her work showing up on Facebook and never any information about who made these wonders or where they were.  So I had to find out.

Hakone sculpture park in Sapporo Japan

Amazing huh?  If you’d like to know more about her work, then visit The Playground designs blog, or The This Is Colossal Blog.  The most detailed info however can be found on The Knit Japan website.  The pics aren’t the best here, but the info is wonderful 🙂

See you next week.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to "Crochet as art"

So much crochet talent. I love the reef and that playground is seriously amazing.

I know Jo! I so want to play there myself! Incredible stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Round 10 whole row

Round 10

blues

More Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

