Spinatomy

A Flyt of fancy

Posted on: September 1, 2012

Hello my friends 🙂

Its been a while since I shared with you one of my favourite creative types. Today I am very pleased to present to you Vickie of Jewelflyt.

Vickie makes the most beautiful jewellery inspired by nature.  I have asked Vickie a few questions about her work and here is what she had to say.

Tell me about jewelflyt?

Jewelflyt is my little jewellery business – I make elegant, slightly quirky pieces, inspired by nature & imagination.

Trilogy fine silver pendant

Describe the materials you use and why you like them.

I predominantly work with PMC (precious metal clay), which is microscopic silver particles in an organic binder. After firing (where the binder burns off & the metal sinters) what remains is fine silver. I love pmc for the possibilities – I can imprint it with leaves or textures, cut it into any shape, join it together, literally draw on it – almost anything I can imagine. I also love the fact that someone (aka me) with no silver smithing skills can create silver jewellery.  I also use beads (mostly crystal & glass) – I have a *ahem* small collection – & sterling silver wire.

Ebb and flow fine silver pendant

Apart from your jewelry, do you make anything else?

I enjoy drawing, photography, playing with polymer clay & seem to have taken up making things out of felt – although most of that is somewhat connected to jewellery making….I also love to bake.

Playing with felt and thread

Your photography is gorgeous and obviously something you do very well. Do you extend this skill to other areas of your life?

Photography is something I enjoy greatly – I love taking photos & also really enjoy the processing side of it. If you look at my Flickr stream, you’ll find lots of nature photography & also self-portraits. I’ve been posting photos there for over four years & have (I think) improved greatly in that time.

Swing fine silver earrings

Anything new coming up for your shop? New methods, designs?

I always enjoy trying new things with my jewellery. Currently I’m loving using scratch-foam to make my own textures & there will be some of those pieces soon. I’ve also been given an introductory silver-smithing course for my birthday & I’m sure some of those techniques will be showing up in my work.

Fine silver pendant

I love how you can see nature in your work. What does the natural world mean to you?

Nature is infinitely intricate & inspiring – the colours, textures & patterns really speak to me. I also come from a family of gardeners, so outside has always been a place to spend time whenever possible.

Silver wing fine silver pendant

Describe your creative process – do you sit down with pen & paper and plan or do you get stuck in with no clear end in mind?

A bit of both really. I have a sketch book full of doodles, drawings & ideas, from which I tend to make a list of projects before I sit down with a batch of clay. Sometimes I even follow the list 😉 What often happens is that I’ll start with the first couple of things & then the textures I’m using will grab me. Or I’ll do something & think, well what if I did that again, but more like this? Things tend to evolve & change as I go.

Creative process in action

Where can you be found about the internet?

Blog : unusualmagic.blogspot.com.au/

Twitter : twitter.com/jewelflyt

Facebook : www.facebook.com/jewelflyt

Flikr : www.flickr.com/photos/jewelflyt/

Pinterest : pinterest.com/unusualmagic/

Shops : www.etsy.com/shop/jewelflyt

www.redbubble.com/people/jewelflyt

Thanks so much Vickie for letting us into your creative world.

11 Responses to "A Flyt of fancy"

I love Vickie’s work! Her photography is something special. And is that an imprint of a sage leaf I see on the swing fine silver earrings? Beautiful. Thanks so much for sharing Shelley. Cheers Jane

Oh those are my favourites Jane – love the leaf imprint. I think sage too 🙂

Very beautiful. I really love the silver wing pendant.

Oh yes Simone – its lovely and just newly made too 🙂

I would love to offer an unbiased opinion but I’m afraid as her sister that may be impossible but I love all the pieces I have. My current favourite-wear-all-the-time pendant is by Vickie.
This was a great interview, great questions and answers, and I love the title. 🙂

what a great profile and insight into the creator, well done to both the interviewer and interviewee for making it so personal and inspiring.

LOL Kathryn – I think you are allowed to be a bit biased. 😉 Thanks for your kind words 🙂

Thank you too Starry 🙂 I just asked what I wanted to know LOL

Thank you Shelley 🙂 love the title.
& thank you to everyone for all the sweet comments – those are salvia leaf prints in the earrings Jane 🙂

Oh it was my pleasure Vickie 🙂 Salvia! Thanks for clearing that up. I was convinced it was sage 🙂

Lovely profile
Vickie has been a Flickr friend for ages and takes beautiful photos as well!!

She sure does Ally 🙂 I would love an ounce of her photography skills 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Round 10 whole row

Round 10

blues

More Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

