Spinatomy

I did it!

Posted on: August 17, 2012

Well I am finding it hard to believe I have made it to finally posting about this.  Way back in February, I started learning crochet again via the Spotlight Facebook Page as I posted about here.   They posted a new block every week for 25 weeks.  Well, that’s how it started out.  I soon moved over to the Krista Crochet Group on Facebook where a lovely lady re-wrote the instructions so they were suitable for absolute beginners with step by step photos.  Honestly, I could not have one it without her help.  Thank you Kim!

My original plan was to do 3 throws, once for each of my girls.  One was using up my very colourful stash, to other 2 in a lovely blue.  About halfway through, I discovered that my multicoloured one was going to look pretty hideous. There was simply too much variation in colour and texture, so I stated another blue one.  I keep using my coloured stash to do each square as well, and I will be using them to make cushions – eventually  (once I finish a few other projects lol)  Some of the pics here will be of the colourful variety.  You all know of my instagram love, so if you follow me there, you’ve most likely seen all this before.

Here is my very first square – back then, I wasn’t aware that there was US terminology and international terminology. This is done in US terms

Block 1

Block 2 was where the challenge began for me – not just granny trebles! (Don’t worry,  I won’t post a pic of every week) I used a differnt sized hook  for each throw as you can see.

Blocks 1 & 2

I learned so many tricks and tips along the way.  This was my first go at block 3.  I love the block,  but I did not like the way each round started in the middle of a side.  I did the following ones from the corners 🙂

Block 3 attempt 1

Block 3 worked from corner – much better!

I decided each of my three throws was going to be slightly different, not just in size.  I decided to join each row of five for each of the 2 smaller throws as I went using a different method each time.  Might as well extend the learning opportunities right?

2 different joining methods (I realised I was making a mistake joining one at a time after this & joined in rows of 5 from here on)

I was soon looking forward to every Friday and my new crochet adventure. I had worked out the US/International thing by now, so I had to increase my colourful blocks by a few rows to compensate.  All part of the learning.

Block 9 – time is flying by!

Block 11 – another I did subsequent blocks from the corner

About here is when I realised my multi-coloured throw was not going to be pretty.

Hmmmm Yuck!

Then, before I knew it, I was starting to think – oh my!  I have almost done it!

Block 23 – only 2 more to go!

And then, somehow, I had done all 25 blocks and it was border time.

Border time

So  by now, six months has passed and I can share with you my very first ever completed crochet throw!  Here is the first of my 3 Krista sampler throws. This one was made using a 6.5mm hook, joined by double crocheting from the back with right sides together.  Love this way to join the best.

Ta da!

Now, you may well be thinking, great job Shelley!  and I thank you for that.But here is what it really should look like.  This was made by the amazing Kim who re-wrote the Spotlight patterns for us.  She added some extra squares, a fancy joining method and an impressive border.

Kim’s Krista Throw

Now that is amazing!

Now on to the next project – or maybe finish some others first 😉

7 Responses to "I did it!"

Great work Shelley, May be I need to start a blog when I get back

Great results all round Shelley!

I had the same sense achievement when finishing mine! I used a dc join too, love the effect. Yours looks fabulous 🙂

wonderful work, I think yours looks wonderful 🙂

Yes Carol, please do – I’d love to see what you’ve done 🙂

Thank you Jane, Bec & Vickie 🙂 Love yours Bec – the colours are lovely 🙂

Congratulations on the finish. It looks great!

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

