Spinatomy

Whoops!

Posted on: July 13, 2012

The second week of school holidays has flown by.  We have been a bit more out and about this week, with a little less emphasis on baking sweet things.  We are all a bit over them to be honest.  Need a few days of fruit & veg & salads I think to de-tox LOL.

I was very happy on Monday when my wonderful wool from Bendigo Wollen Mills arrived. I chose Luxury pure wool and it is just so soft and drapey – exactly what I was after for this throw.

I couldn’t wait to start my throw that will be just for me.  So I didn’t – I started!

I kept going every spare minute a nd soon discovered I had a problem.  This is the first time I am making a large scale project where I have to work out the wool requirements myself.  The pattern calls for an America yarn and I was confident the wool I had chosen was pretty much the same.  I looked at the length each ball of the recommended yarn and simply ordered the equivalent length in the Bendigo wool.  Bah bah – wrong!  I completed the first round of the pattern that repeats 6 more times and I’ve already used a whole ball of wool!  At this rate I will need at least another 5 balls  – that’s an extra 1500 metres of wool!  Hmm I’ve obviously got to learn about more about converting wools.   Oh well!  Hopefully, if I order quick enough the dye lot will be the same.

On a more successful note, I also crocheted up a beanie for a couple of my kidlets.

Since last week’s blog post, I’ve had a request for the recipe for one of the baking wonders, so here it is :

Lime and White Chocolate Fingers

250g (9oz/2 cups) plain (all-purpose) flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

145g (5oz/2/3 cup) caster (superfine) sugar

75g (2 1/2 oz) unsalted butter, melted

2 tablespoons lime juice

grated zest from 2 limes

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 egg yolk

150 g (5 1/2 oz) white chocolate chopped

Preheat oven to 170 deg C (325 deg F/ gas 3).  Lightly grease and flour 2 baking trays

Sift the flour & baking powder into a large bowl and stir in the sugar.  Whisk together the butter, lime juice, zest,vanilla, egg yolk until combined.  Add butter mixture to floour mixture and stir until a firm dough forms.

Take tablespoons of the dough and , on a lightly floured board, roll into thin logs 12 cm (4 1/2 inched) long.  Place on prepared trays and bake for 10 minutes or ntil firm, swapping position of the trays halfway.  Cool on the trays for 5 minutes, then on a wire rack til cooled completely.

Melt your chocolate and drizzle over cooled biscuits.  Leave to set (if you can).  Enjoy 🙂

The recipe comes from a cookbook called “Bake it” by Murdoch Books.  The librarian in me must quote the ISBN : 9781741966404 Dewey number 641.815.

See you next week.

4 Responses to "Whoops!"

I totally know what your talking about when it comes to guesstimating the wool sizes/lengths lol I just take a shot at it and hope for the best 😉
I’m waiting on some cotton from Bendigo this month… want to try out a few new things, so should be fun 🙂
I do want to try the luxury though, it looks so soft. Best use up a tonne of other stuff in my stash first lol

Oh you’ll love it Donna – I am super impressed with it. Especially after using $2 shop acrylics – this wool is just divine 🙂

Julie from tractor girl steered me in the direction of your Lime and White chocolate fingers! I can see why! Cheers Jane

My pleasure Jane! Hope you like them as much as we do 🙂 Very lime-y 🙂

That Julie is a sweetie 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Round 10 whole row

Round 10

blues

More Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

