Spinatomy

Treasures

Posted on: June 15, 2012

Last weekend I got out the family crafting heirlooms from my camphor chest.

I wish I knew more than I do about it all.  All I do know is that it was all made by my great-grandmother on my Mum’s side.  She was amazing.  She could knit, crochet & embroider and probably a whole lot more too.

Hand Knitted Bedspread

Knitted baby blanket

Hand sewn & embroidered tablecloth

Can you see a faint line around the middle of the tablecloth?  I have no idea how it was done, but it is perfect on both sides. This is it up close :

How?

This tablecloth was done by embroidery Cutwork – you sew it & then cut away the middles.  These days you can do it all on a sewing machine with special fabric stabilisers.  Imaging doing it by hand?

Cutwork Embroidery tablecloth

I’m guessing my great granny had a round table or 2.  Here’s a fillet crochet tablecloth.  I can’t wrap my head around the time this would have taken.

Fillet Crochet tablecloth

Hankies didn’t escape the Great Gran’s touch

Hankie love

Of course, in those days you needed a pretty cloth to put your crystal perfume bottles on – more fillet crochet.

Dressing Table Cloth

Now this is another bedspread – my mum has memories of this always being on her Grandmother’s bed.  I thought it was damask, but Mum thinks not.

Damask?

Now we are up to the pride of the collection of Great Gran’s creative works.  This is truly mind-boggling.  It is a bedspread  done with fillet crochet using the finest of cottons.  I have no idea how on earth she managed this, with poor light and a vastly different lifestyle to ours that would have left very little time.  It must have taken months if not years of work.

Peacock Bedspread

Details

Wow huh?  I am so glad that this has all survived to come to me.  Treasures!  Somehow I can’t see my creative things being as revered by my descendants LOL.  Do you have any treasures?

4 Responses to "Treasures"

These are exquisite! Such wonderful heirlooms.

Everything is so beautiful…what a great way to carry a bit of your great grandmother with you.

Thank you agujasblog & Deb. They are very special things I will treasure forever 🙂

These are amazing, especially the crochet bedspread … maybe she made some of these when she was young, i.e. in her teens, for her trousseau or hope chest (also called ‘glory box’ in Australia) =D

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Round 10 whole row

Round 10

blues

More Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

