Spinatomy

I’m a crotchety old lady

Posted on: April 6, 2012

I love good old fashioned crochet.  I do.  When I was 10, I crocheted a granny square rug for my new baby sister.  Clever huh?

But then, I did not pick up a crochet hook again until last year. That’s a LOT of years in between! I became enamoured of arimigumi and thought, hey I could do that!  I got all enthusiastic and bought heaps of wool and hooks & pretty quickly found out that I could not crochet.  Sure I could crochet a granny using 3 treble clusters, but there is SO much more to crochet than I ever knew.   It was all so confusing to my tiny mind – another language really  😦  So I gave it up in disgust.

Then, not so long ago, I saw on Facebook that Spotlightwas going to release a block a week pattern for a throw rug that uses all different crochet stitches for each block.  It called the Krista Throw.  Hooray!  A way to play & learn.  I can do that I thought!

And I have been doing it.  Each week, I have been looking forward to Friday when I can come home, print the new pattern & sit down after dinner to crochet my lil heart out 🙂

I’m up to block 8 now & while some have been a little challenging, I am pretty pleased with my efforts so far. I know they are far from perfect, but hey I’m still happy 🙂

I have decided to make 3 throws – one for each girlchild. One I am doing multicoloured using up all that wool I bought last year, using US terminology and the recommended hook size.  It will be , um, eye catching to say the least LOL.   The other 2 I am doing in a lovely blue using International terminology, but each using a different sized hook.  I figure doing each block 3 times helps me to learn and remember what I am doing. I feel like I am beginning to understand this other language 🙂

I would not have made the progress I have without the help of a lovely group of ladies in a Facebook Group set up for the Krista throw.  Each week, the experienced crocheters help out us beginners with the pattern wordings and tips on stuff you don’t know about just reading the pattern – like the fact that there is US & International terminology that mean different things and what blocking is.  They also tempt us with lots of fabulous crochet projects.

I have a few things on my wish list of things I want to make next – including this one which is a free pattern available through Redheart.com.

Then I had to go to my local library & just happened to borrow some crochet books.

So many options!

I was very happy to find Renate’s book at my tiny little local library.  Ren is a member of the DUST team on etsy like me and is so creative with her crochet.  Check out her blog to see just how amazing she is. 🙂 I think I might need to devote a whole blog post to Renate.  So much to share!

I’ll show you the finished throws later in the year when I am done.  I love a new challenge!

Have you started a new creatively challenging thing lately? I’d love to hear about it 🙂

12 Responses to "I’m a crotchety old lady"

You are so good Shelley! Learning to crochet is on my to do list, and I have given it a go, but so far, not so good. Someday! Looking forward to seeing your finshed projects:) Cyndy

Hi Cyndy – thanks! I hope you can get into it. I am really enjoying learning 🙂

Crikey! So sorry for calling you Cyndy Cynthia – no idea why my figures did that!

good luck with your blankets & I love the look of the swirling fans one

Thanks Vickie 🙂 Yes the fans one is very effective 🙂

oh girl that throw will be beautiful….what a great idea…a different pattern each week…

Thanks Chrissy – I hope it will be beautiful – Not sure how its all going to come together yet LOL

Oh wow Shelley, you have been busy. The blocks look great! I haven’t tackled a crochet blanket yet. It’s on my to do list for this winter.

Thanks Jo! I bet you could do it easy 🙂

Love your work, Shelley! …love that you are creating heirlooms one share at a time too. Beautiful and your girls will thank you for it.

I dunno about heirlooms – a bit of fun anyway hehe. One day I might be good enough to make keepers – bit more practice needed yet 🙂

share = square (typo = I’m an idiot) 😛

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Round 10 whole row

Round 10

blues

More Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

