Spinatomy

It’s all in the preparation

Posted on: March 23, 2012

Today, I thought you may like to see what goes on to make my pincushions.

Every now & then, I sit down to my big kitchen table with my pile of felt and go nuts preparing pincushions for sewing.

felt pile

I have my popular designs that I make reglarly, but I also always have ideas kicking around I need to try too.  Today was a day for both types of preparation.  I am out of peacocks (my biggest seller), I have a creative challenge to meet for an etsy team I belong to, and I want to upsize a couple of mini pincushions I’ve made recently.  This is the extent of my written plans for this session.  Not much eh? LOL  A slack prep day today!

And so on to cutting!

I cut my felt a few different ways.  I do die cut a couple of things – like my big circles, and use the rotary cutter for the sides, but most other things are cut with good old scissors freehand, making it up as I go.

If a design turns out to be popular, I will sometimes make a pattern to make it a little less fiddly and time consuming when it comes to preparation.

Once all the cutting is done, its on to embroidery thread selection and then the prep is all done.  8 pincushions ready to be made!

Now its on to the fun part – the sewing!  I’ll show you once they are all done. 🙂

3 Responses to "It’s all in the preparation"

love the big pile of coloured felt 🙂

hehe – I love my lil ol’ pile of felt too Vickie – just ordered some more so it will be twice the size soon 🙂

[…] forgot that I make pincushions.  Its what I do and I love it.  The preparation is not the fun bit for me.  The fun bit is making each one with love and care.  The fun bit is […]

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

