Spinatomy

Sewing Machine Fear – I have it

Posted on: July 26, 2011

Yes, it’s true.  I will tackle anything requiring a needle and thread.  Mega complex cross-stitch? No problem.  Need a hem taken up? Sure.  Make me a pincushion by hand?  Hey – its what I do.  BUT make something from a pattern on a sewing machine?  Yikes!

I have dabbled.  I have made clothes for my kids when they were tiny.  I made hats, dresses, dolls & their clothes, but to be honest they all looked very, well…..homemade.  I am completely self taught which is probably explains why I am not so good at this crafty skill. More recently, I have made bags as I’ve shown here and they have turned out quite well, which has given me the little confidence boost I needed to take the next step in overcoming my sewing machine fear.

I have today signed up forThe Haby Goddess‘s online sewing course.  The details can be found here.  Its a six week course that shows you step by step lots of awesome sewing basics.  Its starts 1 August and I can’t wait.  It will be great having all the info I need in small bits at my fingertips without waiting forever for perhaps not so good youtube things to load.  Heck there are things to be covered that I have never even heard of before too.

So here’s to a productive six weeks of learning!

5 Responses to "Sewing Machine Fear – I have it"

YAY for sewing! What a fabulous idea. I wish I’d thought of an ecourse when I was learning to sew then I mightn’t have wasted so many meters of fabric on terrible projects! Haha.

Have fun doing it!

Great idea! Thank you for the link. I hope you get over your fear and have a lot of fun, Shelley!!

Thanks Rach & Kate. I am really looking forward to it. There will be no excuse for my silly fear anymore after this I am hoping 🙂

I’ll help you lose that fear if it’s the last thing I do Shelley 🙂
See you tomorrow!

Yay! It starts today! Thanks Haby Goddess! I am just a bit excited wishing I did not have to do day job LOL

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Round 10 whole row

Round 10

blues

More Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

