Spinatomy

Where’s me jumper? Part 2- Finding the jumpers

Posted on: June 25, 2011

A little while back, I shared with you all my desire to felt my own woollen clothing in this post.  Since then, I have scoured op shops (thrift stores)  in my general area and I found these jumpers and a scarf to attempt to felt.

I say attempt, as I am not 100% certain some of the items are wool, and some are a blend, and I have a front loading washing machine, which is great for being gentle on our clothing, but maybe not so good for roughing up wool fibres.

jumpers from the op shops

The jumpers & scarf found in op shops ready to be felted

So what’s next?  Cutting them up in preparation for felting.

red wool cardigan ready for feltingThe red cardigan has some lovely little buttons I can salvage and is 96% lambswool and 4% nylon.  I really hope this one works as I love the colour.

The purple turtle neck jumper is 80% lambswool and 20% nylon.  Not sure if that’s too muchpurple jumper ready for felting nylon, but I guess I will find out soon enough!

black jumper cut up ready to feltThe black turtle neck jumper is very fine and thin, but is 100% wool.

The olive green one is going to work just fine.  How do I know?  It is 100% wool and is alreadyolive green coat cut up ready to felt pretty much felted in the body.

surf jumper ready to feltThe blue surfer dude jumper is so thick and heavy.  The labels have been cut out, but I am almost certain it is 100% wool as it is felted just from wear or maybe someone has already hot washed it hehe.

The green jumper is part of someone’s work uniform and is another 80% wool 20% nylon one.Green jumper cut up ready to felt

messy scarf that probably wont feltThe scarf, well its very attractive I know.  I know the fluffy bits are synthetic, but I am hoping that the maroony-purple is wool.  Not very hopeful now that I’ve cut it up.  I am fairly certain it is all acrylic & geez it made a mess!

I’ll save the next bits until my next post. Stay tuned to see how they work out.

4 Responses to "Where’s me jumper? Part 2- Finding the jumpers"

Looks like fun, can’t wait to see how it all turns out:)

Looking forward to seeing what happens next….. 🙂

Looks like fun! Can’t wait for the next post 🙂

Shelley I am dying to see how they all turned out.

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Round 10 whole row

Round 10

blues

More Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

