Spinatomy

Where’s me jumper?

Posted on: June 8, 2011

For my non-Ausssie readers, the jumper I am speaking about is not my pet kangaroo. 😉  Jumper is another word for sweater.  I was gifted some luscious home made felt recently (see this post)  which was made from woollen jumpers and it was just so lovely.   I have pretty much used it all up to make things like this

Red flowers on rich purple wool felt pincushion
Super soft and brilliant colours

The wool felt is just so soft and luxurious and super awesome to work with.  My pincushions turn out so soft and pillow like, its a whole new feel for me.  I have decided that I need to make some of my own felt now.  But where do I start?

I have found loads of very helpful blog posts about felting your own woollen garments and would like to share some with you.

1. Craftstylish Blog – how to felt sweaters  This blog post has it all.  Lots of tips & good ideas to help you succeed at felting.

2. Craftblog – how to machine felt your projects I love this one because it shows the results with different op shop finds. Love the tip to look for scarves as well, not just jumpers.  I will be doing that!

3. Laughing Purple Goldfish Blog – preparing the jumper Now before reading this, I would have just chucked the whole jumper in the wash.  Not now – great pics of what to do.  (I think I may have found a new favourite blog here :))

Lucky for me, my small town does have 3 op shops (thrift stores) for me to rummage through.  I’ll be doing that tomorrow, looking for lots of woollen clothes.

I think I am ready now to have a go.  I’ll make sure I keep you in the loop and show you how I go.

(OK – I know its not true felting – the correct term is fulling, but no one would know what I meant if I said that would they?)

10 Responses to "Where’s me jumper?"

Good luck Shelley! You will have to show us how it goes.

Thanks Jo – I hope I can do it as well as you do 🙂

Thanks Shelley – those blog posts were really interesting. Sounds easy & I love that the ‘machines’ do all the hard work for you. Makes me want to give it a go too. 🙂

Yes – I doubt I’d be doing it my hand – machines all the way hehe

Sounds great Shelley – can’t wait to see your results. And wishing I could go op shopping with you…LOL.

Might be just a little too far for you to come with me this time Deb LOL

Those little red flowers are so beautiful! I adore the shape and the stitches. Hope you have a great time felting (oops – fulling, you know what I mean). It’s really addictive. Oh – and I recently found this way to use up all the tiniest leftover scraps: http://blog.craftzine.com/archive/2011/05/how-to_scrappy_felt_ipad_cover.html

Thanks so much for your great post Diane and your kind comments 🙂 Off to check out your scrap ideas now. I always keep my scraps knowing there will be some way to use them wonderfully 🙂

It’s so pretty!

I’m pretty well versed on other-side-of-the-world “language” having read so many blogs from there, but I do think it’s amusing how different we speak when we technically use the same language. 🙂 To me, a “jumper” is a dress with adjustable, buckle-type straps, like children often wear over a shirt, if that makes any sense. I think it was Bridget Jones’ Diary that clued me in to the “sweater” meaning of “jumper.” 🙂

There are so many terms that make no sense, even though we speak the same language. I’ve not heard of that kind of dress being called a jumper. I’ve learned something new LOL.

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Round 10 whole row

Round 10

blues

More Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

