Spinatomy

Tea – a craft lovers companion.

Posted on: May 20, 2011

I am not sure why, but I believe the majority of my crafty friends are also quite dedicated tea fanciers.

I love my tea.  I have a giant teacup & saucer I use several times a day.

teacup, spincushions, tea, cup & saucer

My much loved giant teacup

I live in a very small town with only a few cafes, but they all use “town water” to make their tea.  It tastes dreadful.  Took me a while to figure out it was the water, as we are on tank water out here.  I did not buy tea in town for a very long while.

Then, a tea house opened up!  JOY!   I finally had somewhere to go to drink yummy tea! And not just plain old tea either.  I have tasted nearly all of the many varieties now.  My favourites are Oolong, orange pekoe & chili tea.  The chili is served with smarties (a chocolate candy) which makes your mouth go WOW.  It somehow completes the taste sensation.  A tip though – don’t let that one stew too long or you will be in chilli hell.  I learnt that after I chatted too long one day.  Oops!

teapot, tea, zinnia pea, spincushions

Lady of Shalott Teapot by ZInnia Pea

This lovely teapot was created by Zinnia Pea.  By co-incidence, Deb  writer of the Two Cheeky Monkey’s blog has just today posted an interview with Zinnia Pea.  Click here to read about Christabel and her creations and also enter a giveaway to win a Jane Austen Coffee Mug.

Do you love a particular tea?  I’d love to hear your loves as I might find a new one too!

12 Responses to "Tea – a craft lovers companion."

Shelley, I am cringeing at the thought of you drinking tea made with town water…eww.

My all time favourite tea has got to be chai, though I also happily drink Irish Breakfast, English Afternoon, English Breakfast and Darjeeling tea, LOL. I also drink a lot of herbal teas, especially when I am not feeling well and my favourites are green tea with jasmine, chamomile tea and lychee tea. 🙂

Yay for a tea shop opening up. 🙂 Chili tea is not something I have tried – it sounds interesting!

Thank you for including my teapot. 🙂

ZP xo

I lurve Twinings Earl Grey. I have found that once you get hooked on one brands Earl Grey the rest all taste wrong though!

Ooh lychee tea Deb! Might have to try that one. Must admit I do love english breaky too

Zinnia Pea – chili is worth a try – but make sure you do the chocolate too.

I know what you mean Michelle – chai is like that too. My kids love the twinings one, but not so much other brands

we’re big tea drinkers in our house too 🙂
I mostly drink english breakfast, afternoon (both twinings) or chai. My brothers love earl grey (twinings again) & we usually have lady grey, irish breakfast & simply tea in the house too. I also love black tea with lemon instead of milk 🙂
& for herbal I mostly drink tulsi tea – either chai or with pomegranate & green tea.

I usually just have the common black tea or Peppermint Tea. I really like mint anything.

Your Tea Cup is just lovely!

I think Tea and Crafting go together as its a little “senses distraction” for us.

Nice Vickie – hubby likes earl grey too. Funny blokes liking such a floral tea hehe. I must admit, I’m not really into herbals. I have to really really feel like it.

Yes Simmone I agree – tea & crafting – stimulating more of our senses. The tea in my cup in the pic was lipton black tea 🙂

Oh, I drink far too much tea….

I have simple tastes but the best cup of tea I ever had was when a friend made a pot of stock standard black tea and then she added a slice of fresh ginger root to the pot. This had me ooh-ing and ahh-ing.

Hmm ginger tea is yum, but I love ginger a lot anyway.

You can’t drink too much tea Kate – its like chocolate hehe

Love my tea. Good old Lan choo tea is always here but I do love my chamomile and a few I have purchased from “T2” can’t remember their names now, adore my Cranberry, Raspberry and Strawberry tea (Lipton).
I also love my Rose Vanilla White Peony tea purchased from a local etsy seller, sageandmage.
My daughter also has a huge collection of tea bags way too many to mention!

OOh I’ll have to check that seller out Leeanne.

I love my Oolong too and probably drink between 3-6 cups of it a day. Green Sencha is one of my favourites, along with Chilli tea, which is great on a sore throat. However, every night once the kiddies have gone off to bed, I love nothing more than sitting down with a cup of Lapsang Souchong – I really enjoy it at the end of the day for some reason.

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

