Spinatomy

The Evolution of the Peacock Pincushion (so far)

Posted on: May 18, 2011

I have been making pincushions for a couple of years now & I love coming up with new designs.  I’m afraid I have a bit of a problem with making the same thing more than once, which is why there are so many different designs in my etsy shop.

Every now & then though, a design comes together & I know instantly it is right.  It was like that with the peacock pincushion.  As soon as I made the first one, I went “Yes!” in my head.  It all came together well.

With this design, I have managed to overcome my “wont do it twice” attitude.  I recently finished more detailed, embroidered versions and it got me thinking how the design has evolved over time.  A good chance to go back & have a look at what has gone before.

Here is the very first peacock pincushion. He was made with acrylic felt.  I love the olive green colour of the base.

peacock, pin cushion, pincushion, spincushions

First peacock pincushion design

I made a few this way, then I decided it was time for a tweak, so I moved the feather eyes about a bit

peacock, pin cushion, pincushion, spincushions

Second generation peacock design

As you can see, I made a few of these.  Still needed more tweaking though and to be honest, I wasn’t as happy with these.

Then I had a change in materials.  I discovered eco felt.  (Felt made from used plastic drink bottles)

peacock, pin cushion, pincushion, spincushions

New felt, new colours, back a step design wise

What happened next was the start of making kits for people to make their own peacock pincushions.  Slight colour change, but still with the eco-felt.  This is how it is still 🙂

peacock kit, pin cushion, pincushion, spincushions

Final design for Peacock Pincushion Kit

But I wasn’t satisfied.  I knew the design was a hit, but I was a bit bored with it.  I wanted to make it just a little bit more special.  So I thought I’d add more embroidery

embroidered peacock, pin cushion, pincushion, spincushions

Embroidered Feathers Peacock Pincushion

I made a couple this way, and knew I needed to make more, which led to the latest incarnation with even more embroidery and a move of the feather eyes again.  I am pretty happy with this one.  Might make a few more hehe.

embroidered peacock, pin cushion, pincushion handmade, spincushions, felt

The latest incarnation of the Spincushions peacock pin cushion

Not sure where the design will go from here, but I am sure that is not the end!  Stay tuned for more developments.

If you like a giveaway, head over to this page and leave a comment for a chance to win something very cool and very unusual 🙂

8 Responses to "The Evolution of the Peacock Pincushion (so far)"

Love it! Its a hit either way:)

I’ve always loved your peacock pincushion…have you ever thought about variegated embroidery thread in blue/green tones? 🙂

The last one is stunning! I love Pea Fowl, even though I have been chased a few times by the Cocks. I would love a Pea Hen.

Ooh Mandie – I see a new version coming soon hehe – thanks for that 🙂

Thanks Simmone 🙂 I have to admit I have a fear of real life birds. I tend to almost hit the deck if one flies near me. A peacock chasing would probably make me faint hehe

Oh Shelley! Dont come near my house! I have cockatiels, a pigeon and chickens…and the rooster chases people too! Both the cockatiels are making me even more deaf at this minute!

I dont know how impressed a peacok would be with you fainting, maybe it’d be strutting about going “job done!”

hehe – thanks for the warning Simmone. I wont be visiting you anytime soon. 😉

Wow! Look at you and your fancy work! It’s very nice. Great job!

Leave a Reply

Blog home

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 225 other followers

Spincushions on Etsy

Spincushions on Madeit

Flickr Photos

Can you help?

Blogging Friends

